Highlights of the 2016 NASBP Annual Meeting

The 2016 NASBP Annual Meeting & Expo, held in May in Colorado Springs, CO, provided 765 people in attendance unique and informative programs. 

At the beginning of the meeting, then NASBP President Susan Hecker, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., presented Brian Ayres, L A Surety Solutions, and Chad Martin, TIS Insurance Services, Inc., with the John “Jack” J. Curtin, Jr. President’s Award for their outstanding service to the Association over the past year. Ayres and Martin each received a framed certificate personally inscribed and signed by the NASBP President, as well as a minted NASBP President’s medallion made of fine silver.

She also presented John N. Bustard, King & Neel, Inc., with the Bruce T. Wallace Award in recognition of his commitment to the industry and the Association. In addition, Hecker invited NASBP CEO Mark McCallum  and Richard Korman, Deputy Editor of ENR, to the stage, at which time Korman presented McCallum with the prestigious Engineering News-Record (ENR) award for being a construction industry ENR Newsmaker of 2015. Later, Hecker announced that Mike Battenfield of Berkley Surety Group received the Tiger Trust Award. See the SIO article in this issue for more details.  

The Keynote Speaker for the Annual Meeting was Ron Magnus, FMI, who provided advice on succession planning, and, immediately following his presentation, moderated a panel discussion on the topic. Robert Coon, Scott Insurance, provided a technology update on NASBP initiatives. Two programs addressed joint ventures. The first was a continuing education program for bond producers on joint ventures moderated by Dedi Belis, Marsh & McLennan Agency--Florida Region, and delivered by attorneys Adrian Bastianelli and Mike Zisa of the law firm of Peckar & Abramson. The second was a panel discussion about aspects of joint ventures surety professionals and their contractor clients should know. 

The Meeting concluded with a banquet dinner and dancing, at which Hecker announced the 2016-2017 NASBP Officers. See article in this issue on the new NASBP Leadership. See related pictures below. 

Review more highlights of the 2016 Annual Meeting through the following:

View 2016 Annual Meeting Highlight Slideshow by clicking here.

Read the NASBP blogs about the breakout sessions and events, by clicking here.

Slide presentations
The following are some slide presentations from the Meeting:

Ron Magnus Keynote Presentation - The Key to Perpetuating Success

Joint Ventures in Construction - CE Session

Registration List

View the registration list from the 2016 Annual Meeting & Expo, by clicking here.

Sponsors and Exhibitors 

To view a list of NASBP's generous sponsors of and exhibitors at the 2016 Annual Meeting, click here.  


NASBP President Susan Hecker (right), Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., welcomed 765 attendees to the NASBP Annual Meeting, which featured Keynote Speaker Ron Magnus (left), FMI, who offered advice on succession planning and moderated a panel on the topic. 


Hecker thanked the Annual Meeting Program Committee and 
the Committee's Co-Chairman, Brian Ayres (left), L A Surety Solutions, and Chad Martin (right), TIS Insurance Services, Inc., for organizing the Meeting's program that was based around her theme for her Presidency: "It’s All About the People—Building Engagement and Thriving Businesses."
  She awarded Ayres and Martin the John “Jack” J. Curtin, Jr. President’s Award. 


John Bustard, King & Neel, Inc., received the NASBP Bruce T. Wallace Award.  


Richard Korman (far right), Engineering News-Record (ENR), presented NASBP CEO Mark McCallum (center) the prestigious ENR award for being A Top 25 Newsmaker in 2015.   


The Succession Planning panel included, from left, Rick Ciullo, Chubb Surety; Toby Miclette, Bowen Miclette & Britt Insurance Agency, LLC; Brian Ayres, L A Surety Solutions, Inc.; Douglas Bowring, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.; and Robert Shaw, Skillings, Shaw & Associates, Inc. 

 A panel described what surety professionals and their contractor clients should know about joint ventures. The panelists were, from left, Billy Painter, Alliant Insurance Services, Inc.; Eric Hedlund, Sundt Construction; Steve Grauer, Hensel Phelps Construction Co.; and Derek Kirkland, DPR Construction.
 NASBP CEO Mark McCallum, far left, provided a presentation on the State of the Surety Industry and then moderated a panel on the topic. The panelists were, second from left, Mike Bond, Zurich;  Robert Raney, Travelers; Joshua Etemadi, Construction Bonds Inc.--A Division of Murray Securus; and John Knox of SureTec. 
Robert Coon, Scott Insurance, provided a technology update on recent technological achievements of NASBP
Attorneys Adrian Bastianelli (left) and Mike Zisa (right) of Peckar & Abramson provided a continuing education session for bond producers on joint ventures. The session was moderated by Dedi Belis (not pictured), Marsh & McLennan Agency--Florida Region.


Incoming 2016-2017 NASBP President Lynne W. Cook (left), Early, Cassidy & Schilling, presented Susan Hecker (center) and her husband, Jeffrey, with a NASBP plaque commemorating Hecker's presidency over the past year.

Mark your calendar now for NASBP's 75th Anniversary, which will be celebrated during the 2017 NASBP Annual Meeting & Expo from April 23-26, 2017 at the Boca Raton Resort & Club in Boca Raton, Florida.